UW’s College of Health Sciences Honors Outstanding Faculty and Staff | News


April 22, 2022

group of people holding awards

The UW College of Health Sciences recently honored members of its faculty and staff at its Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards ceremony. Among the award winners are, front row, from left: Sreejayan Nair, Sandra Leotti and Corri Sandoval; back row, Boyi Dai, LeAnn Amen, Michelle Hilaire and David Jones. Not pictured: Lauren Biehle, Ellie Jessup and Paula Kihn. (UW Photo)

The University of Wyoming’s College of Health Sciences held its first “hybrid” Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards ceremony April 14.

Honorees are chosen each year by the college’s Faculty Development Committee, which looks at nominees’ contributions to teaching, research and administrative support, including letters of recommendation from peers and students. Faculty and staff also are recognized for excellence in professional development and helping students.

While last year’s gathering was virtual, this year’s event was in person, with a few attendees choosing to attend online.

“We are here to celebrate the amazing accomplishments of our faculty and staff,” said Jeremy Vandiver, a clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice with the UW School of Pharmacy. “Despite many obstacles in the last couple of years, you have continued to support research, teaching and helping our students reach their academic goals.”

David Jones, who is retiring as dean and a professor in the Division of Communication Disorders, was honored with the Career Achievement Award.

While sharing highlights from Jones’ academic career, Derek Smith, director and associate professor in the Division of Kinesiology and Health, said, “David has served many roles at UW, including a number of interim administrative positions. Outstandingly, he has been a servant leader and a continuous support to all members of the College of Health Sciences, especially our students.”

Other award recipients are:

— Innovation in Teaching Award: Paula Kihn, associate lecturer, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

— Interprofessional/Interdisciplinary Award: Lauren Biehle, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice, School of Pharmacy.

— Meritorious Service Award: Michelle Hilaire, clinical professor of pharmacy practice, School of Pharmacy.

— New Investigator Award: Sandra Leotti, assistant professor, Division of Social Work.

— Outstanding Contributions to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award: Corri Sandoval, assistant clinical professor, Division of Communication Disorders.

— Outstanding Researcher Award: Boyi Dai, associate professor, Division of Kinesiology and Health.

— Outstanding Staff Award (0-5 years): Ellie Jessup, office associate, Pre-Health Advising Center.

— Outstanding Staff Award (over 5 years): LeAnn Amen, credentials analyst, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

— Outstanding Teacher Award: Sreejayan Nair, professor of pharmacology, School of Pharmacy.


Source link